Level 6 DPSI (Law) Individual Unit

£181.00 inc. VAT

Purchase a single unit of the DPSI exam here!

The DPSI is a nationally recognised qualification that is widely regarded as the Gold standard for Interpreters. It is accepted and requested nationwide by Interpreter clients and Language Service providers.

Interpreters with this qualification provide a consistent high standard of Public Service Interpreting and as a linguist you will be able to gain, and be eligible for, the highest level Interpreting jobs.

*Registration and Certification fees apply


Individual unit process

You can purchase a single unit (or multiple single units) of the DPSI exam. Please ensure you notify ISL in writing as to which unit and language you wish to undertake.

Unit 1 – consecutive and simultaneous interpreting

Unit 2 – sight translation into English

Unit 3 – sight translation from English

Unit 4 – written translation into English

Unit 5 – written translation from English

DPSI – Key details

  • This DPSI examination process is conducted remotely via Zoom
  • Exams slots available every month
  • Register with NRPSI
  • Undertake partial DPSI units
  • Recognised and accepted by the Ministry of Justice
  • Equivalent to the Level 6 DCI qualification
  • Registration fee of £25 and Certification fee of £50 per unit to be paid for certificate claim
  • The full list of languages supported can be found here: List of languages available at ISL

Duration of the qualification:

  • 3 hour exam process

Method of Assessment

The Diploma in Public Service Interpreting is exam based. The total exam consists of five units. On the first day the learner will undertake a one hour exam for the oral assessments which will cover simultaneous, consecutive and sight translation to and from English. The following day the you will undertake a two hour written exam which will cover written translation to and from English.

You will be tested on a variety of topics in legal, police and immigration contexts. You will need to have access to a computer/laptop, web cam and the internet.

Results are usually received within 2 calendar months.

Certification and Awarding Body

ICQ (I Can Qualify)

Who is this exam for?

The Level 6 Diploma in Public Service Interpreting demonstrates your level
of competence of working as an interpreter in complex settings. It is suitable for learners with the following profile:

  • Professional Interpreters requiring an accredited interpreting qualification to
    demonstrate their level of expertise
  • Interpreters who are required by the Ministry of Justice to have a full DPSI or partial units

Work Opportunities

The Level 6 will enable you to work as a professional interpreter in public service settings such as the following:

  • Police
  • Probation
  • Courts
  • Immigration
  • Prison


Upon successfully passing the DPSI exam you can progress to other qualifications such as:

  • Level 7 Diploma in Translation

Continuing Professional Development

You may also like…